Thoughts

200th post giveaway

It wasn’t exactly how I planned to write my 200th post, but earlier today when I couldn’t get past those words running through my mind faster than usual, I couldn’t resist writing what I did…and that’s what its all about.  In my opinion.

That’s what its always been about, writing.

Not about reaching my 200th post, having some sort of giant giveaway, and having oodles of followers.  That’s never been part of my goal, although I wouldn’t mind 🙂 What I started out writing for, was because I had thoughts, I needed to write, I wanted to write, I wanted to somehow be able to tell people about what was really important.

Today I realized that my posts were hanging out at 199 published posts.  Now, I don’t recommend going back and reading through all 200 of them, because honestly, all of them arent worth reading!!

But when I realized that, I must admit, the first thing that popped into my mind was “What should my 200th post be about?” and close behind was something along the lines of “I wish I had something to “Give away.”

Dont you just hate when you win something – only to find out it wasnt the color you wanted?  Or the right shape.  Or it broke in the mail?  Or you really really REALLY wanted this certain something, but someone else was chosen?

I have something to give you today.  Something that is for everyone, something that – if were given a hundred more years – will still be as valid then as it is today.  But the thing is, I cant exactly GIVE this to you.  I can tell you about it, but I cant exactly GIVE it to you.  Please dont leave now, just give it a few more minutes, I promise it will be worth your time.

I can tell you about God, and everlasting life, and send you to Him, and He can give it to you.  This free “giveaway.

And in my opinion, that is better than any other free offer out there that with time will loose all value.

I know, I know, who doesn’t like free stuff?  Free give away, enter here to win this.  I love them too,   Something that will never fade, or loose value, or break.  Someone who will be there, no matter what.

But I cant just tell you about that, without telling you the reason WHY you so desperately need this…so much more than you need anything else.

And today, on the one month anniversary of loosing someone who was closer than I thought, its something that is heavy on my mind.  The value.  The importance.

The Bible talks about man, it tells how wicked we really are.

“There is none righteous, no, not one” – Romans 3:10
“The heart is deceitful above all things and beyond cure. Who can understand it?” – Jeremiah 17:9
“Do you not know that the wicked will not inherit the kingdom of God? Do not be deceived: Neither the sexually immoral nor idolaters nor adulterers nor male prostitutes nor homosexual offenders nor thieves nor the greedy nor drunkards nor slanderers nor swindlers will inherit the kingdom of God.” – 1 Corinthians 6:9-10
In short, we are screwed.

Sorry, I didnt mean to dash your self confidence.  But we humans are really not ALL THAT.

In our short amount of time that we have been here, we have broken the ten commandments.  We are filthy, sinful, rotten humans who may try to appear decent on the outside, but inside we are just as broken as the next.

And if we were to die, without Christ, we will be eternally separated.  And in darkness.

Because of our state, Because of our need, and our sinfulness, Christ died.  Because we needed a savior, God sent Jesus.

Because He loved us, and He wanted to save us from our rotten self-destructive selves.

We did nothing to deserve it.  The only thing that we deserve is hell.

But!
God  sent His son to be rejected by man, to be scoffed at, and hung to die.  God used that, to save us.  To save us from every sin that we have, and will commit.  When we did nothing. 
What He saw in me, in you, in anyone, I am not sure.
There is nothing we can do.  There is nothing we can say.  There is nothing that can be added to what has been done.
Christ saved us.
And all we have to do is believe.

Believe and be saved.


To say yes.  To accept that we are sinners, beyond evil, and that God chose us.

Tomorrow is NOT guaranteed to you.  It is not guaranteed to me.  Things change.  So fast.  Just like that.  They are instantly different.  With one phone call, one blink, one wrong look, one bad decision, one good decision.  And our lives are forever changed.

And you have two choices.  To believe that you are a sinner, and accept the free gift that God has extended to you.  Or continue on your way, choosing to ignore.

“But God demonstrates his own love for us in this: While we were still sinners, Christ died for us.” – Romans 5:8

“For God so loved the world that he gave his one and only Son, that whoever believes in him shall not perish but have eternal life.” John 3:16

Leave a Reply

